Weather Forecast



PRAIRIE PEOPLE: Week ending Nov. 9

David Ahlers of Graco will lead Minnesota Chamber board

ST. PAUL – David Ahlers will lead the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce board as its 2018-19 chair, the Minnesota Chamber announced.

Ahlers is executive vice president of human resources and corporate communications at Graco in Minneapolis.

New officers and board members will formally begin their terms at the Minnesota Chamber’s annual meeting, which will be held on Nov. 15 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America.

The volunteer board represents businesses of all types and sizes across Minnesota. Other officers are: chair-elect – Eric Gibson, UMC Inc., Monticello, also elected to a second term on the board; secretary-treasurer – Stephanie Laitala-Rupp, Commonwealth Properties, St. Paul; immediate past chair – Todd Paulson, RTP Co., Winona.

New directors elected to three-year terms are:

  • Lester Bagley, Minnesota Vikings, Eagan
  • Geoff Baker, McFarland Truck Lines, Austin
  • Bob Gardner, Gardner Builders, Minneapolis
  • Angela Heikes, SMSC Gaming Enterprise, Prior Lake
  • Todd Hofheins, HealthPartners, Minneapolis
  • Mercedes Jackson, Fredrikson and Byron, Minneapolis
  • Jean Kane, Colliers International, Minnetonka
  • Philip Kaufman, United Healthcare, Minnetonka
  • Damu McCoy, Target, Minneapolis
  • Jennifer Shomenta, Cargill, Wayzata
  • Bob Solfelt, Mortenson, Minneapolis
  • Mary Jo Williamson, Mayo Clinic, Rochester

Directors elected to their second three-year terms are:

  • Jarod Allerheiligen, Grant Thornton LLP, Minneapolis
  • Scott Brener, SFM Companies, Bloomington
  • Ingrid Christensen, INGCO International, Minneapolis
  • Chris Clark, Xcel Energy Co., Minneapolis
  • Kelly Larson, Summit Brewing Company, St. Paul
  • Dan Marvin, Marvin Windows and Doors, Warroad
  • Mike McMahan, Allina Health, Minneapolis
  • Ameet Shah, Shah Corporation, Burnsville

Audra Shaneman, president and chief executive officer of the New Ulm Area Chamber of Commerce, and Matt Kilian, president of the Brainerd Lakes Area Chamber of Commerce, will represent the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce executives.

Jill Renslow of Mall of America, Bloomington, will represent the past board chairs.


Four Dakotans named to national committees

BISMARCK, N.D. – Four Dakotans have been appointed to the Credit Union National Association’s committees for 2019 and will be serving at the national level, the association announced.

The names and titles of the appointees and their committee assignments are:

  • Jeff Olson, president/CEO of Credit Union Association of the Dakotas in Bismarck, Credit Union Consumer Consideration Committee
  • Nick Woodard, CEO of United Savings Credit Union in Fargo, N.D., Small Credit Union Committee
  • Jean Peterson, volunteer at Aberdeen Federal Credit Union in Aberdeen, S.D., chairman, Volunteer Leadership Committee
  • Fran Sommerfeld, CEO of Sioux Falls FCU, Sioux Falls, S.D., Credit Union Powers Subcommittee.

These appointments take effect Jan. 1 and run through 2019.


Essentia Health hires nurse practitioner in Fargo

FARGO, N.D. – Nurse Practitioner Karli Roman has joined the Ear, Nose and Throat Department at the Essentia Health-South University Clinic in Fargo.

Roman earned a doctorate degree in nursing from the University of Mary in Bismarck, N.D. She is certified as a family nurse practitioner by the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.

Prior to becoming a nurse practitioner, Roman worked at Essentia Health as a registered nurse in pediatrics for four years.


Two honored by SDSU Foundation with Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership

BROOKINGS, S.D. – Cathy Voelzke and the late John “Jack” Marshman were honored with the Jerome J. Lohr Award for Volunteer Leadership in recognition of their involvement and support of the South Dakota State University Foundation.

The award was given Oct. 12 in conjunction with the SDSU Foundation’s fall Council of Trustees meeting. Jerry Lohr, one of SDSU’s largest benefactors and a member of its board since 1988, made the announcement.

  • Voelzke, a native of Gregory, S.D. has been a member of the Foundation’s Council of Trustees since 2003. She was a nutrition marketing program manager for Midwest Dairy Association in Brookings until her retirement in 2004. She has served on the board for the past nine years.

A 1966 family and consumer sciences education graduate, she also earned a master’s degree in nutrition education in 1988. Her husband, Vern, is an SDSU alumnus.

  • Marshman was a trustee for 8½ years before his death in July. Marshman and Lohr had a long professional relationship that included the renovation of Solberg Hall. Lohr was one of the lead donors to the project while Marshman was president of Sioux Falls Construction, which completed the restoration.

Marshman earned his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering in 1955. He has been honored as a Distinguished Engineer and a Distinguished Alumni. His wife, Ellie, and their three daughters were among the family members accepting the award.