Weather Forecast



PRAIRIE PEOPLE, Week of Nov. 13

Amber Award given to two North Dakotans

BISMARCK, N.D. – Two North Dakotans have been recognized by the U.S. Dorum Growers Association. 

Minot resident Jay Fisher, president of Fisher Research LLC, and Russell Doe, a durum producer in Reeder, have been given the 2019 Amber Awards during the Crop Outlook and International Durum Forum banquet on Nov. 11 in Minot.

The Amber Award recognizes individuals who have shown outstanding commitment and dedication to the durum industry in the areas of production, research or education.

Fisher, who holds bachelor and master degrees from North Dakota State University, has spent more than 37 years as agronomist/director at the North Central Research and Extension Center. His work with the center included evaluation and dissemination of research activities on herbicide residue in Hard red spring and durum wheat and research on sulfonylurea chemical combinations for false chamomile control in durum. He also supported providing genetically pure, foundation grade seed to North Dakota Hard red spring and durum wheat producers.

Doe has been a durum producer for 42 years, and has worked as a custom harvester in Oklahoma and North Dakota for the past 25 years. He also served as a USDGA board member for nine years, including two years as president. 

Red River Dance names new executive director

FARGO, N.D. – Caitlin Killoran has been hired as the new executive director of Red River Dance & Performing Co.

Killoran holds bachelor degrees in management and health communication from North Dakota State University, and brings extensive management experience as a business owner to the

organization. Her role will include oversight of the company’s recreation, outreach and competitive programs, in addition to managing fundraising and marketing initiatives.

Red River Dance, a non-profit organization, serves more than 350 students per session, including 100 families who are involved in its outreach programs.

Winners named for 2019 Bush Prize

PAUL, Minn. – The Bush Foundation has awarded the 2019 Bush Prize for Community Innovation to five organizations with a track record of successful problem solving in their communities.

The Bush Prize, now in its seventh year, celebrates organizations that are extraordinary not only in what they do but in how they do it, according to the organization. The prize is awarded annually in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geography.

This year’s winner include: 


Hmong American Partnership, Saint Paul ($500,000)

Minnesota Indian Women’s Resource Center, Minneapolis ($500,000)

Rural Renewable Energy Alliance, Backus ($408,000)

North Dakota

Valley City-Barnes County Development Corporation, Valley City ($358,000)

South Dakota

Wokini Initiative of South Dakota State University, Brookings ($500,000)