Weather Forecast



Prairie Business magazine announces 2017 40 Under 40 list

GRAND FORKS — Prairie Business magazine proudly announces its 2017 40 Under 40 list, featuring 40 of the top business professionals under the age of 40 in the northern Plains.

These inspiring and dedicated professionals come from a wide range of industries and have made significant impacts in their chosen professions, industries and communities. They are entrepreneurs, industry experts, executives and nonprofit leaders; they are business owners, patent holders, government officers and community trendsetters.

Plus, they show unusual devotion to their communities and to volunteer service.

The selected 40 in the annual list are featured in the December issue, which is available here.

"The 2017 40 Under 40 list showcases some of the exceptional talent that we have in our region," said Tom Dennis, editor of Prairie Business.

"These high achievers bring dynamism to our communities, and their creativity helps our region prosper and grow. They have our respect and congratulations, as well as our best wishes for continued success."

This year’s 40 Under 40 include (listed in alphabetical order):

■ Katie Andersen – Mayor, Jamestown, N.D.

■ Mike Angland – Architect, Vice President and Shareholder, Widseth Smith Nolting, Baxter, Minn.

■ Justin Axness – Owner and President, TF Powers Construction Co., Fargo, N.D.

■ Carrie Biondi – Vice President for Business Development & Client Service, Lawrence & Schiller, Sioux Falls, S.D.

■ Jim Boulger – Owner and Funeral Director, Boulger Funeral Home, Fargo, N.D.; Wildeman-Boulger Funeral Home, Hillsboro, N.D.; Fredrikson-Boulger Funeral Chapel, Kindred, N.D.

■ Benjamin Brandt – Founder, Capital City Wealth Management, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Meghan Compton – Chief Legal Counsel, Altru Health System, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Holly Gruhlke – Chair and Assistant Professor of Business, Dickinson State University, Dickinson, N.D.

■ Patrick Gulbranson – Chief Executive Officer, Family Healthcare, Fargo, N.D.

■ Josh Hochgraber – Technology Advisor, Marco, Detroit Lakes, Minn.

■ Scott Holdman – Director, Impact Foundation’s Impact Institute, Fargo, N.D.

■ Jonathan Holth – Co-Owner, The Toasted Frog Restaurants, Grand Forks, Bismarck and Fargo, N.D.

■ Paul Hoplin – Founder, Twin Tandem Studios, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Jennifer Burke Jackson – Architect, JLG Architects, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Sommer Jacob – Co-Founder, Co-Owner and CEO, Northland Concrete & Excavation, and Owner, Studio North, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Kristin Jaeger – Marketing Director, Cornerstone Bank, Parshall, N.D.

■ Alyssa Kaste – Harvest Project Manager, Express Employment Professionals, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Missy Keney – Director of Marketing and Customer Experience, Alerus, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Naomi Keney – Vice President/Director of Credit Risk, First International Bank & Trust, Fargo, N.D.

■ Amanda Kosior – Marketing Director, JLG Architects, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Jennie Krause – Transportation Engineer, KLJ, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Don Larson – Public Affairs Senior Specialist and Partner, Odney, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Brett Lefor – Chief Operating Officer, Blackridge Capital, Dickinson, N.D.

■ Karl Liepitz – Assistant General Counsel, MDU Resources Group, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Brad Lindblad – Business Intelligence Strategist, Gate City Bank, Fargo, N.D.

■ Justin Maddison – Chief Financial Officer, Western Cooperative Credit Union, Williston, N.D.

■ Cody Marshall – Co-Founder and Vice President of Services, Stoneridge Software, Barnesville, Minn.

■ Corey Mock – Executive Director, Greater Grand Forks Young Professionals, Grand Forks, N.D., and Minority Leader, North Dakota House of Representatives, Bismarck, N.D.

■ Katie Krogstad Roed – Founder and CEO, Sugarbrooke Creative, Erskine, Minn.

■ Mike Schroeder – Product Specialist, WCCO Belting, Wahpeton, N.D.

■ Miranda Schuler – Agent/Agency Owner, Miranda Schuler Agency, Farmers Insurance, Minot, N.D.

■ Dustin Scott – City Engineer, West Fargo, N.D., and Project Manager, Moore Engineering,

West Fargo, N.D.

■ Elise Siverson – Tax Manager, Eide Bailly, Fargo, N.D.

■ Rebekah Scott – Owner, CEO and Designer, Rebekah Scott Designs, Valley Springs, S.D.

■ Jeremy Straub – Assistant Professor of Computer Science, North Dakota State University, and Associate Director, NDSU Institute for Cyber Security Education and Research, Fargo, N.D.

■ Cassie Thompson – Executive Officer, Forx Builders Association, Grand Forks, N.D., and Co-Owner, Ganesha Yoga, East Grand Forks, Minn.

■ Jeannie Thurston – Director of Creative Services, Midco, Sioux Falls, S.D.

■ Jared Twogood – Principal and Co-Founder, GT Architecture, Dickinson, N.D.

■ Justin Valinski – General Manager, Columbia Mall, Grand Forks, N.D.

■ Katie Washnok – Owner/Operator, Blackout Inc., Aberdeen, S.D.

About Prairie Business magazine: For 17 years, Prairie Business magazine has served as the only business-to-business magazine dedicated to the northern Plains. More than 20,000 print and digital copies are distributed monthly. The magazine focuses on the success and opportunities in the northern Plains states of North Dakota, South Dakota and western Minnesota and covers a variety of business topics including higher education, finance, architecture and engineering, agribusiness, energy, health care, economic development, tourism, technology and construction.