Weather Forecast



FEMA declares major disaster aid for northeast ND for spring flooding

BISMARCK -- A presidential disaster declaration has been issued for the 10 North Dakota counties and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation affected by spring flooding, Gov. Doug Burgum’s office said Wednesday, July 12.

The declaration triggers about $3.25 million of federal assistance as a “preliminary assessment from the Federal Emergency Management Agency,” a news release said. A more thorough inspection from the agency will document and reimburse actual costs.

The grants are funded at 75 percent federal, 10 percent state and 15 percent from the locals.

“This presidential declaration provides much-needed assistance that will offset the significant financial impact from widespread spring flooding in northern North Dakota,” Burgum said in a statement. “We are grateful for FEMA’s responsiveness and the overall federal support.”

The affected areas include Benson, Bottineau, Cavalier, McHenry, Pembina, Pierce, Renville, Rolette, Towner and Walsh Counties, along with the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.